Experiences can often involve a group of children or an entire class. Group Stories allow you to document and share these moments in one single story.
Once published, a Group Story is added to the portfolio of each linked child and the families can be notified, so it functions just like an individual story.
Parents and extended family can then comment, although these comments and the replies from teachers will only be visible to your child's family and educators.
To create a Group Story you need to head to the All Children page under the Children Tab.
In the top right corner see the Create Group Story button which you'll need to click.
You'll then be taken to the Group Story creation page, where you will first need to select the children included in the group story.
You can choose multiple classes to select children from, with the ability to Check All and Uncheck All children to be included.
Now it's time to get creative and write your story in the main text box. Upload videos, photos and files to make your post eye catching.
Engage parents by posing questions to the reader, encouraging them to comment.
If you've added photos, click on the picture and the image toolbar will appear. There are number of options available to edit your photo, including auto-resizing and the ability to add a border.
Reflect on the learning and uncover deeper insights by utilising the additional text boxes. These reflections can be supported by adding photos to these text boxes.
The headings of these text boxes can be updated by Site Administrators through the site settings to better support your centre's aims.
Provide further contexts for learning by linking into relevant curriculum goals, which can be managed through your curriculum library.
Link to plans created in Educa by selecting the plan from the drop down list.
You can select up to 10 plans which don't need to apply to every child in the group story. Parents will only see the plans linked to their child, maintaining privacy.
You can then decided to send an email notification to all of the child's family and profile teachers by checking the Send Email box.
You can also mark the story as a day journal by checking this box. This will exclude the story from reporting, so is often used for daily updates which aren't focused on the child's development.
At the bottom of your page you will always see three options:
Cancel will close the story without saving it.
Print Preview will open up a PDF version of the story which you can then download or print. This will not save your story, so be sure to return to either save it or post it.
Draft will save your story to the child's Draft Stories on their profile page, which can only be accessed by educators.
The final option that you will see depends upon your site settings.
If you have Story Approval turned on the you will see the option to Submit for Approval. This means your story needs to be reviewed before being published for families to see.
If you have story approval turned on but you see the Publish option, this means the Site Administrator has made you exempt from the approval process.
If story approval is not turned on for your centre then you will see the option to Publish your story for parents and educators to see immediately.
Any questions? Get in touch with our Support Team at email@example.com.