Our Planning feature has conventions and defaults (that can be changed) to meet most work flows and planning needs.


Here is the standard workflow:

  • Draft plans - seen by linked teachers and author only

  • Published plans - visibility is set by the visibility setting ins the template ou use. By default plans be seen and le (and can be edited by) linked teachers, admins and families by default. You can create plan templates that are not visible to families or have selected fields not visible to families of any linked child.

  • Plan comments - seen by everybody with plan access (could include families)

Plan Access Defined by Template Used

Once you create a plan from a plan template, you cannot change visibility of the plan or any fields. You do that by creating a plan template (or editing an existing plan template) to suit your needs, then create a plan from that template. More on plan templates here.

Create Private Teacher Discussion Field In Plans

If you want to use plans for curriculum planning, lesson plans or other uses not necessarily of interest to families, visibility can be set in the planning template you use. There are options to make the entire plan visible to teachers only or to set privacy field by field - families see some fields, not others.

Linked teachers can view and edit plans in Draft mode and again once Published.

Pro Tip. Comments are not available in Draft mode. If you would like to create a place for teachers to discuss a plan while it is being created, ask your Admin to create a plan that has "Private Teacher Discussion" field and have the Admin set that field to private, not seen by families. This field could be used for teachers after the plan is published.

Related Articles

Setting up Plan Templates

Writing a plan

Did this answer your question?