Individual stories allow assigned educators to communicate solely with the family of the selected child, who can then then join the conversation by commenting.
You'll firstly need to select the child the story is for. Head to the All Children page and select Create Story under the name of your selected child.
Start by creating a title that lets the reader know exactly what the story is about. Then add the date of your post.
Now it's time to get creative and write your story in the main text box. Use the three orange buttons to upload videos, photos and files to make your post eye catching.
Engage parents by posing questions to the reader, encouraging them to comment.
If uploading photos, remember to utilise the image editing tools which allow you to resize and change the quality of your images.
Reflect on the learning and uncover deeper insights by utilising the additional text boxes.
The headings of these text boxes can be updated by Site Administrators through the site settings to better support your centre's aims.
Provide further contexts for learning by linking into relevant curriculum goals, which can be managed through your curriculum library.
Link to plans created in Educa by selecting the plan from the drop down list. Only plans you have created for that child will appear.
You can then decided to send an email notification to all of the child's family and profile teachers by checking the Send Email box.
You can also mark the story as a day journal by checking this box. This will exclude the story from reporting, so is often used for daily updates which aren't focused on the child's development.
At the bottom of your page you will always see three options:
Cancel will close the story without saving it.
Print Preview will open up a PDF version of the story which you can then download or print. This will not save your story, so be sure to return to either save it or post it.
Draft will save your story to the child's Draft Stories on their profile page, which can only be accessed by educators.
The final option that you will see depends upon your site settings.
If you have story approval turned on the you will see the option to Submit for Approval. This means your story needs to be reviewed before being published for families to see.
If you have story approval turned on but you see the Publish option, this means the Site Administrator has made you exempt from the approval process.
If story approval is not turned on for your centre then you will see the option to Publish your story for parents and educators to see immediately.
Any questions? Get in touch with our Support Team at email@example.com.